Top trainer Paul Nicholls

Top Grand National Trainers

Below are the profiles of four trainers who between them will have favoured Grand National runners. Each trainer has an outstanding record in National Hunt racing and all, if they have not already are more than capable of training a Grand National winner.

Before the profiles however, we list the records of the top five trainers at Aintree generally. The statistics include a winners to rides ratio and the percentage return of a £1 pound stake.

Check the latest 2019 Grand National Odds

Grand National Winning Trainers

Here is a list of recent Grand National winning trainers:

Year Winner Trainers
2018 Tiger Roll 10/1 Gordon Elliott
2017 One For Arthur 14/1 Lucinda Russell
2016 Rule The World 33/1 Mouse Morris
2015 Many Clouds 25/1 Oliver Sherwood
2014 Pineau De Re 25/1 Richard Newland
2013 Auroras Encore 66/1 Sue Smith
2012 Neptune Collonges 33/1 Paul Nicholls
2011 Ballabriggs 14/1 Donald McCain Jr
2010 Don't Push It 10/1J Jonjo O'Neill
2009 Mon Mome 100/1 Venetia Williams
2008 Comply Or Die 7/1J David Pipe
2007 Silver Birch 33/1 Gordon Elliott
2006 Numbersixvalverde 11/1 Martin Brassil
2005 Hedgehunter 7/1F Willie Mullins
2004 Amberleigh House 16/1 Donald McCain
2003 Monty's Pass 16/1 Jimmy Mangan
2002 Bindaree 20/1 Nigel Twiston-Davies
2001 Red Marauder 33/1 Norman Mason
2000 Papillon 10/1 Ted Walsh
1999 Bobbyjo 7/1 Tommy Carberry
1998 Earth Summit 7/1F Nigel Twiston-Davies
1997 Lord Gyllene 14/1 Steve Brookshaw
1996 Rough Quest 7/1F Terry Casey
1995 Royal Athlete 40/1 Jenny Pitman
1994 Minnehoma 16/1 Martin Pipe
1993 No Race* -
1992 Party Politics 14/1 Nick Gaselee
1991 Seagram 12/1 David Barons
1990 Mr Frisk 16/1 Kim Bailey

Find out more about the Grand National Jockeys.

Leading Trainers with Runners

The following trainers are always favourites with punters and the four selected will usually manage to have a fancied Grand National runner.

Willie Mullins

Champion trainer of Ireland and a man who is more closely associated with saddling high Grade winners than Handicappers, Mullins has saddled one winner so far at Aintree.

That winner however, was none other than the great Hedgehunter, who won the 2005 Grand National with Ruby Walsh on board. Hedgehunter almost equalled the feat of Red Rum, by winning back to back Grand Nationals, but failed narrowly to do so in 2006 when second behind Numbersixvalverde.

Master trainer, Mullins also saddled the third horse home in the 2008 Grand National, Snowy Morning.

Get a free bet on the 2019 Grand National.

Nigel Twiston-Davies

One of the most popular of English trainers, Nigel has saddled two Grand National winners so far in his illustrious career and has one of the favourites to win again this year in Tricky Trickster.

His two winners were the great Earth Summit who won in 1998 and again in the 2002 Grand National with Bindaree.

Nigel has been one of the top NH trainers in the UK for many years, but this season so far, he is excelling himself and sits second in the Prize money race behind Paul Nicholls. A win in this with Tricky Trickster could see him run Nicholls very close by the time of the season end.

2019 Grand National Tips.

Paul Nicholls

The champion trainer was long overdue his Grand National winner, when Neptune Collonges landed the race in 2012 under Daryl Jacob.

Despite the incredible success of the Nicholls yard in the National Hunt Graded races and at the Cheltenham Festival, the best the Champion trainer had managed in the Grand National before the 2012 win was second with Royal Auclair in the 2005 Grand National.

Check the runners for this year's Grand National.

Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New William Hill online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the 'win' part from EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned as part of the settlement of successful free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. T&C's apply, 18+
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.
Bet £20 & Get £20
Exclusive Promo Code
Select 'Use a promo code' in the drop-down list in the Cashier and enter SPORTS20. Deposit £20 or more. An extra £20 will be credited immediately. The deposit and bonus must be wagered 1x onSports at 1/2 (1.5) odds or higher. General bonus terms apply. This offer expires 31 May 23:59. T&C's apply, 18+
Winners Poll /
Who will win the 2019 Grand National?
Tiger Roll
Vintage Clouds
Anibale Fly
Walk In The Mill
General Principle
Pleasant Company
One For Arthur
Total Votes: 650
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It