2009 Grand National winner Liam Treadwell

Grand National Past Winners

Below is a list of the most recent winners of the Aintree Grand National. Clicking the year of the race will take readers to the background and full result of each race with trainers, jockeys and odds.

Get a free bet on the 2019 Grand National.

There have been many past winners who have tried to defend their title the following year, as Comply Or Die nearly did in 2009 when he finished second, while Don't Push It finished third in his quest for back-to-back titles for AP McCoy in 2011. It's also a good idea to look at the previous results to see which horses that are running this year ran last year as well and how they got on. Amberleigh House for example finished third the year before he went on to win the Grand National in 2004.

Get the latest odds on the 2019 Grand National.

Recent winners of the Grand National.

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2018 Tiger Roll - 10/1 8 D Russell G Elliott
2017 One For Arthur - 14/1 8 D Fox L Russell
2016 Rule The World - 33/1 9 D Mullins M Morris
2015 Many Clouds - 25/1 8 L Aspell O Sherwood
2014 Pineau De Re - 25/1 11 L Aspell R Newland
2013 Auroras Encore - 66/1 10 R Mania S Smith
2012 Neptune Collonges - 33/1 11 D Jacob P Nicholls
2011 Ballabriggs - 14/1 10 J Maguire D McCain Jr
2010 Don't Push It - 10/1J 10 AP McCoy J O'Neill
2009 Mon Mome - 100/1 9 L Treadwell V Williams
2008 Comply Or Die - 7/1 jt Fav 9 T Murphy D Pipe
2007 Silver Birch - 33/1 10 R Power G Elliott
2006 Numbersixvalverde - 11/1 10 N Madden M Brassil
2005 Hedgehunter - 7/1 9 R Walsh W Mullins
2004 Amberleigh House - 16/1 12 G Lee G McCain
2003 Monty's Pass - 16/1 10 B Geraghty J Mangan
2002 Bindaree - 20/1 8 J Culloty N Twiston- Davies
2001 Red Marauder - 33/1 11 R Guest N Mason
2000 Papillon - 10/1 9 R Walsh T Walsh

Check out the full results of previous Grand Nationals.

Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New William Hill online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the 'win' part from EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned as part of the settlement of successful free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.
Bet £20 & Get £20
Exclusive Promo Code
Select 'Use a promo code' in the drop-down list in the Cashier and enter SPORTS20. Deposit £20 or more. An extra £20 will be credited immediately. The deposit and bonus must be wagered 1x onSports at 1/2 (1.5) odds or higher. General bonus terms apply. This offer expires 31 May 23:59. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Winners Poll /
Who will win the 2019 Grand National?
Tiger Roll
Vintage Clouds
Anibale Fly
Walk In The Mill
General Principle
Pleasant Company
One For Arthur
Total Votes: 650
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It