2009 Grand National Winner Mon Mome

2009 Grand National

Venetia Williams became the first female trainer since Grand National legend Jenny Pitman to saddle a Grand National winner. She won with her nine year old and 100/1 rank outsider Mon Mome who comfortably got home to win by twelve lengths from 2008 Grand National winner, Comply Or Die. While Ms Williams was achieving her first, Mon Mome was also achieving something similar, becoming the first 100/1 winner since Foinavon in 1967.

Get a free bet on the 2016 Grand National.

Although never amongst the favourites to win the race, Mon Mome had shown enough form in both the Scottish and Welsh Nationals to suggest that he would stay the trip and perhaps his 100/1 tag was a slightly false price. The truth of the matter was is that he hit peak form bang on time, was beautifully ridden by Liam Treadwell and fully deserved his victory; he will no doubt be a much shorter price for the 2010 Grand National.

Comply Or Die just did not have enough speed at the end to mount a serious challenge, his case was not helped by having to concede 6lb to Mon Mome. His second place however proved that he will be back again for a third crack in 2010, where he is already amongst the favourites in the 2010 Grand National odds.

Third home was My Will, trained by Paul Nicholls, who had ran fifth in the Cheltenham Gold Cup three weeks earlier behind Kauto Star, while fourth place went to State Of Play for trainer, Evan Williams. Fifth was another 100/1 outsider, Cerium.

2016 Grand National Odds.

2009 Grand National Result

Pos. Horse/SP Age Weight Jockey Trainer
1st Mon Mome 100/1 9 11-0 L Treadwell V Williams
2nd Comply Or Die 14/1 10 11-6 T Murphy D Pipe
3rd My Will 8/1 9 11-4 R Walsh P Nicholls
4th State Of Play 14/1 9 11-2 E Williams E Williams
5th Cerium 100/1 8 10-5 P Murphy P Murphy

Check out the results of these other Grand Nationals:

2000 Grand National | 2001 Grand National | 2002 Grand National | 2003 Grand National | 2004 Grand National | 2005 Grand National | 2006 Grand National | 2007 Grand National | 2008 Grand National | 2010 Grand National | 2011 Grand National | 2012 Grand National | 2013 Grand National | 2014 Grand National | 2015 Grand National

Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New William Hill online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the 'win' part from EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned as part of the settlement of successful free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.
Bet £20 & Get £20
Exclusive Promo Code
Select 'Use a promo code' in the drop-down list in the Cashier and enter SPORTS20. Deposit £20 or more. An extra £20 will be credited immediately. The deposit and bonus must be wagered 1x onSports at 1/2 (1.5) odds or higher. General bonus terms apply. This offer expires 31 May 23:59. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Winners Poll /
Who will win the 2019 Grand National?
Tiger Roll
Vintage Clouds
Anibale Fly
Walk In The Mill
General Principle
Pleasant Company
One For Arthur
Total Votes: 650
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It